Log in
× General News and Information relevant to the ASRL and Surf Rowers. Keep topics relevant or they will not be published.

New Australian Team

1 year 5 months ago #43808 by ASRL Committee
ASRL Committee created the topic: New Australian Team
Australian Development Team:
After a great weekends racing we now have our worthy winners. Saturday at Nth Cronulla we saw 117 boat crews meet the starter in an event that was serving two purposes. Firstly in all 8 Divisions of racing crews were contesting part of the NSW Interstate team selection event.

Sitting in the middle was the Australian Development Team selection for U23 crews to travel and represent in New Zealand on 4 February 2017. After four tough rounds of racing the winners of the two U23 finals were crowned with the honour of representing their country.

Those winners were Newport in the U23 Female division and Nth Cronulla in the U23 Male division. Competition was tough between all crews and the spirit in which the crews that missed the spot displayed in congratulating the winners was great to witness.

Newport U23 girls: Piret May, Celestine May, Katy Hulton, Zoe King swept by Michael King
North Cronulla U23 boys: Zac Hughes, James Budd, Mitchell Bouzounis, Jack Mentha swept by Adam Purdie

The ASRL through the support of TEAM NAVY were able to advance a large part of the SLSA $1500 Member Levy that is always part of any Development Team commitment. Congratulations to the two crews and thank you TEAM NAVY.

Australian Open Team:
On the Sunday at Elouera some of the country’s best crews meet the starter as they fought hard to win the honour to represent SLSA again in New Zealand of 4 February 2017. The ocean played its part in making this a truly memorable selection event for all crews. The format of racing developed by the ASRL worked a treat as the top crews all worked their way like cream to the top.

Both gender finals came right down to the last race. In the ladies of the three crews contesting the three race final Sth Curl Curl and Tallebudgera were equal so the last race carried huge importance and in the end it was Tallebudgera that came out with the money.

Again the men were also all locked up between Bulli and Avoca going into the last race. As champion crews always do it was a fantastic tussle with the Avoca men prevailing over the line to win the role of Australian representative.

Tallebudgera Open Women: Lisa Webber, Kirsty Morrison, Kelissa Brockett, Tara Dreaver sweept by Gary Williams
Avoca Open Men: John Paterson, Brad Mitchell, Daniel Tamblyn, Duke Brierty swept by Richard Brierty

Congratulation to all four crews, you are entering hallowed ground, to represent your country is the highest honour we have in SLS and Surfboat racing. Train hard and race hard you have all our support.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Search the forum

Time to create page: 0.199 seconds

Share Us...

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn

Subscribe to our Mailing List!

Search our Site